“Glitchy beats and new wave synths open up a world of untold possibilities…” - The Line of Best Fit

“…barbed, nuanced songwriting…” - Clash Magazine

London based trio IYEARA are preparing to present their dramatic, ominous soundscapes through the release of their debut EP, CONSEQUENCES, out on 27th September 2019 via TrES-2b Recordings / Ingrooves.

A post globalisation dystopia in a coat of analogue electronica and hacked widescreen visuals, CONSEQUENCES perfectly captures IYEARA’s cerebral synth-pop sound, neatly interwoven with brooding elements of dark wave and post-punk. The release of their debut EP CONSEQUENCES will include new single, the hypnotically intense Exhale which drops on 20th September, as well as previous single Shout; a cover of the Tears for Fears hit, featuring Liela Moss.

Talking abut Exhale, singer O’Keeffe explains: “Lyrically 'Exhale' is a study of what makes a person. Who are we and what relationships shape us? I played with the idea, that “the last breath we take and a life flashing before our eyes” untangle these questions. Who do we see? What do we feel. Love? In that last moment. The idea that people make an impression on us that never leaves. Even a relationship some 10 or 15 years past is a mark on us. Like a name written on the back of a hand. We ‘Inhale’ and ‘Exhale’ these moments, they are us both the good and bad, I can be‘a pile of mistakes in the shape of a body’ sometime. But ‘on the back of your hand, I’ll be never far away”.

Comprised of The Duke Spirit guitarist Toby Butler, as well as producer Malcolm Carson and vocalist Paul O’Keeffe, IYEARA have started to make a name for themselves in their own right over the past year. The group have had a hand in track remixes for the likes of Laura Marling’s LUMP project, The Boxer Rebellion, Simon Raymonde’s Lost Horizons, Paris Youth Foundation, The Ting Tings, Lusts and Liela Moss.

IYEARA’s gift for reincarnating such tracks didn’t go unnoticed as they were shortlisted for this year’s MPG Awards in the Remixer of the Year category, alongside Matthew Herbert and Shura. Further remixes of tracks by artists including The Prodigy, Mark Lanegan and UNKLE are set to be revealed later this year.

CONSEQUENCES is out on 27th September 2019 via TrES-2b Recordings / Ingrooves.