“…waves of heavy percussion and intertwining riffs." - DIY

“…a raucous dip into empowerment…”- The Line of Best Fit

“…stunning…” - Noisey

Formidable trio HAVVK take no prisoners with their fierce new single Shifting Shape, out on 17th May 2019 via Veta Records. The single completes Part 1 of HAVVK’s debut album Cause & Effect.

Drenched in feedback-laden guitars, pulsating drum beats and a snarling attitude throughout, HAVVK take their unrestrained alt-rock sound to a whole new level with Shifting Shape. Front woman Julie Hawk’s raw, impassioned vocals are filled with a powerful bite, making the song’s meaning all the more poignant. Shifting Shape tackles the societal pressures to adapt how you look to fit into what society expects, especially around traditional assumptions of gender. Julie elaborates, "We should be living in a world where guys can express vulnerability and where women can wear whatever they want without hearing words like ‘tomboy’ or ’slut’. The song is about wanting the safety and freedom to live your life without these constraints."

HAVVK originally formed in London in 2015, and have since split their time between London, Dublin and Berlin. They have collaborated with Belfast based producer Rocky O’Reilly (And So I Watch You From AfarToutsBrand New Friend) for the last two years to help develop their unique sound. In addition to their musical endeavours, Julie has also co-founded SelfMade - a platform to explore DIY music in Ireland through performance, discussion, and art, and last year launched Female Fronted Drawn Together - a project through which she has created a playlist of admirable female bands/musicians and created an illustration to accompany each song.  

HAVVK have previously received support from NoiseyThe 405StereogumWonderlandDIYClash, and The Line Of Best Fit to name but a few. They have been praised by the likes of BBC 6Music’s Lauren LaverneTom Robinson and Chris Hawkins, as well BBC Radio London and Radio X, as well as being featured on Spotify’s official Alternative Generation, Feelgood Indie, Fresh Finds: Six Strings and The Alternative Éire playlists. Combining an abrasive edge with an exquisite finesse, activism is at the heart of all HAVVK create, with their music covering a range of topics including inequality, gender-preconceptions, and generalisations faced by different social groups. 

Shifting Shape is out on 17th May 2019 via Veta Records, followed by HAVVK’s debut album, Cause & Effect, due for release on 22nd November 2019.

Catch HAVVK live next on their Drawn Together tour, full list of dates below:

  • 2nd May - Oh Yeah Music Centre - Belfast

  • 3rd May - The Cumberland Arms - Newcastle

  • 4th May - HATCH - Sheffield

  • 8th May - Sneaky Pete’s - Edinburgh

  • 9th May - Broadcast - Glasgow

  • 10th May - The Richmond - Brighton - The Great Escape

  • 11th May - Actress & Bishop - Birmingham

  • 15th May - Temple of Boom - Leeds

  • 16th May - Paper Dress Vintage - London

  • 17th May - Zed Alley - Bristol

  • 18th May - The Den - Bath